PML-N sweeps polls for heads of local govts in Punjab

Polling for election of heads of local governments in Punjab was held on Thursday. Unofficial results are pouring in.

PML-N’s Colonel, retired, Mubashir Javaid had already been elected unopposed as Lahore’s mayor after the Election Commission had rejected candidature of his opponent from PTI because the party had failed to complete its panel. All the nine deputy mayors of Lahore have also been elected unopposed, and they all belong to PML-N.

Similarly, according to the unofficial results, PML-N candidates have won in Bahawalpur, Multan, Rahim Yar Khan, Vehari, Layyah, and Gujrat District Councils.

All mayors, deputy mayors, district chairmen and vice chairmen will take oath of their offices on 31st of this month.

Prime Minister Muhammad Nawaz Sharif has congratulated PML-N office bearers and voters for securing an overwhelming majority in the local government elections across Punjab.

He appreciated the hard work of the party workers.

The Prime Minister said people have shown great trust and confidence in the developmental policies of PML-N. He said the elected Mayors and Chairmen of local governments will better solve people’s problems at their doorstep.

Punjab Governor Malik Muhammad Rafique Rajwana has also felicitated PML-N office bearers for securing an overwhelming majority in the final phase of local government elections.

In a message, he said the process of transfer of power at the gross root level is completed and it will strengthen democracy in the country.

Rafique Rajwana hoped that elected Mayors and Chairmen of local governments will play an active role in resolving the issues of the people.

Meanwhile, Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif has urged elected representatives to take every positive step to resolve problems being faced by the people.

In a statement, he said the PML-N success in local bodies elections is the result of its services, transparency and honesty rendered to masses.

He said that those indulging in politics of sit-in have been defeated again.

Source: Radio Pakistan