Standing Committee on Federal Education and Professional Training meets

Islamabad, February 18, 2016 (PPI-OT):The Standing Committee on Federal Education and Professional Training met today in the Parliament House, for election of its Chairman. Dr. Imran Khattak, MNA proposed the name of Col. (Retd.) Dr. Amirullah Marwat, MNA for the Chairman of the Committee. Ms. Amra Khan, MNA seconded the proposed name. No other name was proposed for the post therefore, Col. (Retd.) Dr. Amirullah Marwat, MNA was elected unopposed Chairman.

All Committee Members and Chief Whip congratulated the elected Chairman and ensured their full cooperation. Newly elected Chairman, Col. (Retd.) Dr. Amirullah Marwat, MNA thanked the members for their confidence and support. He appreciated the efforts of previous Chairman as he could not continue his chairmanship due to health issues. He said that education is a basic right of every child and ensured that it will be given priority.

He further informed the Committee that the meetings of the Committee will be held regularly with fruitful results. Security situation of the educational institutions will be addressed and the agenda of the meetings will be decided through consensus. He welcomed members’ interest, cooperation and suggestions of the members in the meetings.

The members of the committee raised issues related to education policies. The members suggested that the educational institutions be visited to address their working condition issue and Teachers’ behaviour with their students, causing many students to skip their schools. They also suggested that Parent teacher’s meeting be held regularly and fee issue should be given due consideration. Educational institutions should also be established in backward areas.

Special educational needs of special children should also be addressed. Action should be taken against HEC’s non recognized sub campuses of different educational institutions. The members also suggested that the each department that is preparing budget should discuss their budget allocation with the Committee.

The Chairman assured the Committee members that the issues and concerns regarding education will be addressed with Committee members’ cooperation. Dr. Zulfiqar Ali Bhatti, Mr. Waheed Alam Khan, Ms. Asyia Naz Tanoli, Ms. Amra Khan, Chaudhary Hamid Hameed, Dr. Shazia Sobia, Ms. Shahida Rehmani, Col. (Retd.) Dr. Amirullah Marwat, Dr. Imran Khattak, Dr. Nikhat Shakeel Khan, Chief Whip of PML (N) and senior officials of the National Assembly attended the meeting.

For more information, contact:
Karamat Hussain Niazi
National Assembly of Pakistan
Automation Centre,
National Assembly Secretariat,
Parliament House,
Islamabad – Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-9221082-83
Fax: +92-51-9221106