National Scholarship Management Committee Awards Indigenous Scholarships on Quota Basis

Islamabad: The 19th meeting of the National Scholarship Management Committee (NSMC) was held at HEC Secretariat, under the chairmanship of Dr. Sohail Naqvi, Executive Director, Higher Education Commission. The meeting was attended by representatives of the four Provincial Governments, Planning Commission, Ministry of Science and Technology and HEC officials.

The Committee, for the first time, approved award of indigenous scholarships under the project “PhD Fellowship for 5000 Scholars” on quota basis as per Federal Government policy.

As many as 650 scholarships were provisionally awarded in light of the decision of the ECNEC meeting held on July 29, 2011 which agreed to HEC’s proposal to award local scholarships on quota basis after 18th constitutional amendment.

The participants were informed that the selection for Batch-7 of the scheme “PhD Fellowship for 5000 Scholars” was prolonged due to decision at the Government level. The members were also apprised that being a Federal Government organization, HEC would ensure implementation of quota policy in award of indigenous and foreign scholarships in future as well.

The members appreciated the decision and hoped that this would help in promoting inter provincial harmony and removing regional disparities.

For more information, contact:
Aayesha Ikram
Director (Media)
Higher Education Commission
Sector H-9, Islamabad
Tel: 90402404, 90402412

Leave a Reply