More big names on Pakistan Super League coaching panel

Lahore, November 25, 2015 (PPI-OT): Sri Lankan legend Sanath Jayasuriya, former Australian World-Cup winning coach John Buchanan, and former Indian pacer Venkatesh Prasad are the latest signings on the Pakistan Super League coach roster. With the addition of a wide variety of coaches, the Pakistan Super League has managed to attract the best of the best in the business.

Jayasuriya, who played 110 Tests, 445 ODIs, and 31 T20Is in his career, follows his former team mate Chaminda Vaas on the PSL coach roster. The Sri Lankan legend, who was known for his explosive batting in limited overs cricket, has also served as Chief Selector of Sri Lanka.

John Buchanan, the man who successfully coached the 2003 and 2007 World Cup winning Australian team, has also signed up with the Pakistan Super League. After parting ways with the Australian team, Buchanan worked in the IPL and with New Zealand Cricket.

Former Indian pacer, Venkatesh Prasad, is another Pakistan Super League coach signing. The lanky pacer from Bangalore has, in the past, worked as a bowling coach with the Indian team. “Sport has no barriers and that is what cricket has offered to different leagues globally. I am proud to be involved with the Pakistan Super League,” said Prasad in a video message after signing up with the PSL.

Other new signings include Australians Dean Jones, Steve Rixon, and Simon Helmot, England’s Mick Newell and Ian Pont, and South Africa’s David Nosworthy and Dale Benkenstein. “As promised, we have closely followed up on this key deliverable of ensuring that top coaches are on board the PSL ship. You will see names such as John Buchanan – two times World Cup winner – and Sanath Jayasuriya in this list and, naturally, this means that the Pakistan Super League is associated with quality,” remarked Mr. Najam Sethi, Chairman PSL Governing Council.

All coaches who have signed up on the PSL coach roster will go through a selection process in which franchises will choose their coaching panels. Top foreign players such as Chris Gayle, Kevin Pietersen, Shane Watson, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, James Anderson and Dwayne Bravo have already signed up on an impressive player roster including top local and foreign names. The Pakistan Super League will take place from February 4-24, 2016, in Dubai and Sharjah, with five teams set to take part in the first edition of the league.

For more information, contact:
Nadeem Sarwar
Media Manager
Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB)
Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore 54600, Pakistan
Tel: +9242 571 7231 -4
Fax: +9242 571 1860