Local Government Elections in Islamabad: Election Commission issues instructions to heads of political parties to issue party tickets to their nominated candidates

Islamabad, November 01, 2015 (PPI-OT): For the Local Government Elections in Islamabad, that are being held on party basis on 30th November 2015, the Election Commission had issued instructions to all the heads of the political parties to issue party tickets to their nominated candidates as these party tickets are required to be presented to the Returning Officer by the candidate for allotment of party symbol. The said instructions were dispatched through post to all the political parties on their addresses available with this Commission. However, some political parties listed below could not receive the instructions due to incomplete addresses etc.:

S.No.     Party Names

1.        Aam Insan Movement (IMS)
2.        All Pakistan Ghurba League
3.        All Pakistan Minorities Allinace
4.        All Pakistan Muslim League
5.        Awami Himayat Tehreek Pakistan
6.        Gen. Pervez Musharaf Himayat Tehreek
7.        Human Development Movement
8.        Istiqlal Party
9.        Islami Nazriati Tehreek Pakistan
10.       Jamiat Ulema Pakistan (Niazi)
11.       Jamiat Ulema-e-Pakistan (Nifaz-e-Shariat)
12.       Jamiat-e-Mushaikh Pakistan Pir Fazal Haq
13.       Jeev-e-Pakistan Party
14.       Khud Mukhtar Pakistan Party
15.       Majlis-e-Wahdat-e-Muslimeen Pakistan
16.       Mohib-e-Wattan Movement
17.       Muttahidda Tehreek Inqlab Pakistan
18.       Pak Wattan Party
19.       Pakistan Awami Tehrik-e-Inqilab
20.       Pakistan Liberation League
21.       Pakistan Muhafiz Party
22.       Pakistan Muslim League (J)
23.       Pakistan Muslim League “H” Haqiqi
24.       Pakistan Tehreek-e-Iqalab
25.       Pakistan Meo Ittihad
26.       Pehchan Pakistan
27.       Tajir Awam Movement Pakistan
28.       Tehreek-e-Istehkaam Pakistan
29.       Tehreek-e-Khalat Pakistan
30.       Tehrik-e-Masawaat

Therefore, the attention of above thirty political parties is invited to the following instructions issued on 19th October 2015 as the last date for issuing such Party Ticket is 9thNovember 2015:

i. The party head of each political party may consider the authorization of a party office bearer to issue party-ticket to the candidates contesting elections in ICT on behalf of political party head.

ii. Party-ticket, either by the Party Head or by his authorized office bearer, shall be issued latest by 09thNovember, 2015 for the ICT elections for the purpose of allotment of symbol to such candidates by the Returning Officers at the time notified by the Commission for the purpose.

iii. Party-ticket issued by the aforesaid authorized bearer or by the party-head may not be recalled or cancelled;

iv. Care may be taken that against one seat only one party ticket is issued;

v. In case, the party head chooses to act in accordance with the provision of sub-para-i, above, he may provide a list of such authorized office bearers containing name, designation, NIC No. and other particulars of such authorized person to the District Returning Officer, ICT latest by 26th October, 2015 who shall forward such list to all Returning Officers in ICT for necessary action;

vi. Party-ticket may contain name, parentage and NIC number of the candidate;

vii. Party-head or the person authorized by him shall put his signature and stamp on each party-ticket / certificate on party letter head and write the date of issuance of the ticket;

viii. Each candidate shall submit the party-ticket issued in his / their favour to the Returning Officer concerned at the time of scrutiny of their nomination papers;

ix. Due care should be taken at the time of issuance that party ticket is issued to the nominated candidate only.

For more information, contact:
Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP)
Election Commission of Pakistan Secretariat,
Election House, Constitution Avenue G-5/2,
Tel: +92-51-9201975, +92-51-9206062
Fax: +92-51-9205402, +92-51-9205300