50 EU Parliamentarians ask Modi to ban pellet guns in IOK

London, March 28, 2019 (PPI-OT):A cross-party group of Members of the European Parliament via a letter addressed to Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi has called for a ban on the use of pellet guns on civilians in Indian occupied Kashmir. Wajid Khan, a Labour Member of the European Parliament representing the North West of England, has authored the letter to Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Wajid Khan has been championed the cause of Kashmir in the Parliament since his appointment two years ago. He secured the historic Kashmir hearing in the human rights committee in February.

Speaking to media men, Wajid Khan said the letter demands the end of one of the many human rights abuses in Indian occupied Kashmir- the use of pellet guns against civilians – by Indian occupation forces. The letter particularly points out that using pellet guns is against international human rights law and that the immunity that the Indian military currently enjoy is untenable and cannot continue.

Wajid Khan commented: “I am delighted that so many of my colleagues from different countries, different backgrounds and different political opinions have come together to condemn human rights abuses in Kashmir. The use of pellet guns on innocent women, men and children is completely barbaric and for too long it has been ignored by the international community. I sincerely hope that Mr Modi ensures that this terrible procedure ends soon.”

On the prospect of a better future for Kashmir, Mr Khan commented: “A new future is dawning for Kashmir. I sincerely hope that everyone can work together to build a free and prosperous Kashmir. At one point, peace in Northern Ireland seemed a distant dream. We can do this if we work together. I really hope Mr Modi takes our letter into account and acts to ban pellet gun usage, as a first step.”

The letter reads: “We, the undersigned, in our capacity as elected Members of the European Parliament, are writing to you to express our grave concern about the past and ongoing human rights violations against people in Kashmir, said a recent report released by the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR).”

The letter has been signed by Wajid Khan MEP, Alex Mayer MEP, Amjad Bashir MEP, Sajjad Karim MEP, Julie Ward MEP, Jonathan Arnott MEP, Theresa Griffin MEP, Helga Stevens MEP, Jean Lambert MEP, John Howarth MEP, Derek Vaughan MEP, David Martin MEP, Margrete Auken MEP, Baroness Nosheena Mobarik MEP, Liliana Rodrigues MEP, Rory Palmer MEP, Anthea McIntyre MEP, Maria Arena MEP, Arndt Kohn MEP, Ana Gomes MEP, Siôn Simon MEP, Bart Staes MEP, Soraya Post MEP, Ilhan Kyuchyuk MEP, Elena Valenciano MEP, Julie Girling MEP, Tunne Kelam MEP, Jose Inacio Faria MEP, Lucy Anderson MEP, Richard Corbett MEP, Jude Kirton-Darling MEP, Maria Gabriela Zoană MEP, Barbara Lochbihler MEP, Mary Honeyball MEP, Csaba Sógor MEP, Momchil Nekov MEP, Linda McAvan MEP, Jakop Dalunde MEP, Klaus Buchner MEP, Edouard Martin MEP, Josef Weidenholzer MEP, Eva Kaili MEP, Eugen Freund MEP, Brando Benifei MEP, Paul Brannen MEP, Fabio Massimo Castaldo MEP, Jordi Solé MEP, Andrejs Mamikins MEP, Claude Moraes MEP and Caroline Nagtegaal MEP.

For more information, contact:
Kashmir Media Service
Phone: +92-51-4435548, +92-51-4435549
Fax: +92-51-4861736
Email: info@kmsnews.org
Website: www.kmsnews.org